COMP 775 - Fall 2015

COMP/BMME 775: Medical Image Analysis

Fall 2015, T R 9:30am-10:45am, SN 284

Instructor: Marc Niethammer
Email: (mn -at- cs.unc.edu)
Phone: 919-590-6149
Office: 219 Sitterson Hall

Course description [PDF]

Overview

This course will provide an introduction to medical image analysis. Starting with an overview of imaging modalities, we will explore simple methods for image preprocessing and feature extraction, methods for image segmentation, for image analysis, as well as for image registration. The course will only require minimal prerequisites, mainly some knowledge in linear algebra and calculus.

Prerequisites: Some knowledge of linear algebra and calculus. MATH 547, STOR 435. Ability to program.

Resources: A textbook is not explicitly required. However, I will follow loosely material in the book 'Image Processing, Analysis, and Machine Vision' by Sonka, Hlavac, Boyle, Third Edition. A number of related books are on reserve at the undergraduate library (see syllabus for details).

Lecture materials will be posted on Sakai

Grading: Grades will be based on one take-home mid-term exam, a few homework problems, and a small course project. The split-up is as follows:

  • Mid-term: 40%
  • Homework: 35%
  • Project: 25%

Schedule

Date Topic
Tue Aug. 18 Medical Imaging Modalities
Thu Aug. 20 Medical Imaging Modalities (continued)
Tue Aug. 25 Simple feature extraction and preprocessing
Thu Aug 27 Simple feature extraction and preprocessing (continued)
Tue Sep. 1 Binary images: morphology, skeletonization
Thu Sep. 3 Simple Segmentation: Thresholding and edge-based methods
Tue Sep. 8 Simple Segmentation: Merging, splitting, watershed, and matching
Thu Sep. 10 Bayesian estimation: ML, MAP ...
Tue Sep. 15 Bayesian estimation, ML, MAP, ... (continued)
Thu Sep. 17 Energy minimization for segmentation and registration
Tue Sep. 22 Data mismatch
Thu Sep. 24 Data mismatch (continued)
Tue Sep. 29 Geometric atypicality
Thu Oct. 1 Geometric atypicality (continued)
Tue Oct. 6 Shape Spaces
Thu Oct. 8 Brief Overview of Deterministic Optimization Methods
Tue Oct. 13 Brief Overview of Deterministic Optimization Methods
Thu Oct. 15 No class due to Fall break
Tue Oct. 20 Calculus of Variations
Thu Oct. 22 Calculus of Variations
Tue Oct. 27 Deformable Model Segmentation Approaches
Thu Oct. 29 Deformable Model Segmentation Approaches (continued)
Tue Nov. 3 Image Registration
Thu Nov. 5 Image Registration (continued)
Tue Nov. 10 Image Registration (continued)
Thu Nov 12 Object Representations for Deformable Models
Tue Nov. 17

Discussion of take-home mid-term

Thu Nov. 19 Statistical shape analysis
Tue Nov 24 Statistical shape analysis (continued)
Thu Nov 26 No class due to Thanksgiving
Thu Dec. 1 Hypothesis testing
Tue Dec 3 Reading day
Thu Dec 8 Project presentations


Useful Resources